Posted in books

Goodreads Reading Challenge 2022

Last year I participated in the reading challenge. I set my goal to read 75 books. Unfortunately, I didn’t meet that goal. I read 49 books. Still good, I know. But this year I set my goal to read 50 books.

Front Cover - The War That Saved My Life

I’m currently reading The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. I’m really enjoying it. A former coworker of mine really loves this book and talks about it all the time so I decided to give it a read. 🙂

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him. 

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

It’s actually a young readers novel but I love reading books of all age groups so it really doesn’t bother me.

I just finished reading The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict. SO GOOD! I highly recommend it

In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict’s The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. This novel resurrects Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated. Was she simply Einstein’s sounding board, an assistant performing complex mathematical equations? Or did she contribute something more?

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. Then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Marie Benedict illuminates one pioneering woman in STEM, returning her to the forefront of history’s most famous scientists.

Are you participating in the Goodreads Reading Challenge? If so, what is your goal?

What books are you reading currently?

One thought on “Goodreads Reading Challenge 2022

  1. I set my Goodreads goal at 50 this year. Last year I read 100 books, but I have some chunky books on my list for the year, so I lowered it a bit. I just finished From Sand and Ash. It was a good read, but not a favorite. I am currently reading Hero of Ages, Once Upon a Wardrobe, The Inheritance by Tamara Alexander, and I Looked For a Man and Found One by Lorene Miley.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s